The Reason Cars are Referred to as “WHIPS”

"Midnight Carriage" from City of Bones. Credit Sony PicturesConsidering I have former ties to Hip-Hop and Urban Music, I have often heard custom cars and motorcycles referred to as “Whips”, but curiousity led me to dig further to see if I could officially connect the dots as to where the term originated. As I begin to search for answers it led me to this definition that I believe explains it best and ties it all together. It also implies that the term “whip” did not originate in the hip-hop culture however, it was hip-hop music that embraced the term, made it cool and gave it a greater degree of exposure to the main stream. Here is the definition of “Whip” below.

(def) Whip: When the steering wheel was first put into use in automobiles, it was called the “whip”. The whip is what you used to control the horses on a stagecoach, hence the analogy. Many years later, various hip hop artists noticed that the Mercedes-Benz logo resembled a steering wheel. They then proceeded to use the old term “whip” to describe any Mercedes-Benz vehicle. The term has now been generalized to classify any expensive automobile. (end of definition)

Speaking of whips, how would you have like to have owned one like the image in the blog back in the day? Definitely a Cool Whip, would’nt you say?

Fans get an exclusive first look at the creation of the midnight carriage from ‘City of Bones.’ Credit: Sony Pictures.

Dont know anything about the movie and I actually found the image while doing my research on whips and thought I would share because I thought the whip was nice!

Next I will share how all this ties in with waxing your automobile to keep it looking it’s very best. It’s pretty interesting and between these two posts you will begin to understand why I chose “Whip Appeal” as the title of my blog.

Have a blessed Day!

D. Smith
.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

